Scholarships are awarded to full-time high school and college students who have demonstrated an aptitude in jazz.  The Charles Dolo Coker Jazz Scholarship Foundation has awarded over $400,000 to date. To be considered for a scholarship, please download and fill out the application below.  Please take note of the current error in the pdf application:

As of 3/11/2020, the 2020 Scholarship Competition

has been cancelled due to the Pandemic


To receive a scholarship application by mail or for more general information, please contact:

The Charles Dolo Coker Jazz Scholarship Foundation, Inc.
P.O. Box 480028
Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone/Fax (323) 935-1374 or (562) 762-6441


First Place                    Darynn Dean                             Vocalist

Second Place                Brendan Beck                           Bass and Vocals

Honorable Mentions

Nashir Janmohamed                 Bass

Christopher Astoquilla                Sax

Jonah Goldstein                        Guitar

James Schuyler Montgomery     Trumpet

Matthew W. Kuperberg              Piano

Joshua Childress                       Tenor Sax

Benny Conn                              Trombone

Tatiana Tate                             Trumpet

Alex Guan                                 Trombone

Katelyn Hunter-Robinson           Vocalist

Most Promising

Kenneth Dixon                          Sax

Kenneth Brown                         Trumpet

Luis Chan                                 Piano

Henry Baskin                            Guitar

Harmony Forsythe                     Bass

Carly Stock                               Alto Sax

Antonio Pastrano

First Place Instrumental
Jamael Dean

First Place Vocalist
Darynn Dean

Second Place Winner
Aaron Shaw

Third Place Winner
Lawrence Shaw

Fourth Place Winner Vocalist
Katelyn Hunter-Robinson

 Most Promising
Justin Gilmore Gresham
Kenneth Brown
Christopher Powe

 Honorable Mention
Mathew Kuperburg
Christopher Astoquillica


Jamael Dean 1st Place Winner Instrumentalist
Matthew Jamele
Christopher Astoquillca
Kalum Harrison
Ashley Chanel Sirls 1st Place Winner Vocalist

Honorable Mention & Most Promising Scholarship Recipients:
Kameron Carey
Joshua Childress
Tiffany Parker
Mekala Session
Miles Willaims
Steve Murillo
Maxwell Kim
Brandon Stennett

Click here for older scholarships

(A Non Profit 501 (c)(3) Corporation) Federal Tax ID number: 954 203 652

facebook   Like on us facebook!